I received an email today from FAFSA.com stating that they had successfully filed my FAFSA for me and needed for me to fill out a signature page. I was instructed to follow a link and then fill out a form revealing my personal information. It all seemed very convincing. Years ago I did have a student go to FAFSA.com instead of FAFSA.ed.gov and they tried to bill her a substantial fee. I aggressively reminded them that she was a minor and couldn't sign a contract and they backed off. So, you might want to remind your students and their families that filing the FAFSA is always free and that the web site if FAFSA.ed.gov!
Tuesday, January 15, 2008
Financial aid scam!
One of the colleagues at National Association for College Admission Counseling warned a recent financial aid scam using a false FAFSA application website. The real site is not fafsa.com but fafsa.ed.gov. When you receive anything from other than http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/, watch out!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my site, it is about the CresceNet, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://www.provedorcrescenet.com . A hug.
Post a Comment